Devereux CBC Logo

Call us at (772)873-7800

Devereux Florida

  • Become a Foster Family
  • Building Strong Families
  • Homework Banner

Tweet Share on LinkedIn Send email Print

News & Media

Devereux Community Based Care forms outreach committee and rocks

Port St. Lucie - A committee designed to raise awareness for Devereux Community Based Care and its mission to enhance the safety, permanency and well-being of children in the dependency system met for the first time Friday and hit the ground rolling – with rocks.

The first activity organized by the committee is called #DCBCRocks! The activity, which will tie into the rock-painting sensation sweeping the nation, is intended to raise awareness for the organization while celebrating National Child Abuse Awareness and Prevention Month.

Staff in Indian River, Martin, Okeechobee and St. Lucie counties will paint rocks, many of them featuring prevention messages, and then hide them throughout the community. Participants are encouraged to snap pictures of their rocks and post them to Facebook on various local Rocks pages and on Twitter and Instagram, using prevention hashtags.

DCBC Rocks Painting Fun

Painting fun with Devereux CBC QM staff (left to right): Suzanne Kulscar, Sara Topmiller & Holly Ives

“They can post them to our page with clues about where to find the rocks,” said Melissa McInturff, founder of the PSL “Rocks” Facebook page, which has a following of more than 15,000. “The more you post, the more people will see messages of child-abuse prevention – and it gets more people actively involved with the mission.”

Committee members will next meet in May to continue brainstorming community events and staff activities. By the end of the meeting, members expect to have a calendar of activities for the year that can be presented to senior management for approval.

“We’re really excited about this work,” said committee chair Jerra Wisecup. “We have an opportunity to increase awareness for our organization while also supporting our partners in the community and giving staff more opportunities to get involved.”

The nine-member committee includes Vice Chair Melanie Baculima, Cherelle Mansfield, Suzi Kulscar, Jill Poole, Margie Dotson, Todd Trumpore, Chris Martinez and Rashandia Johnson.

More News:





April 14, 2017

Contact: Christina Kaiser
(772) 528-0362